Codes, Java, JS/HTML

How I almost got a job and blew it up

Recently, I got into grad school with …. NO SCHOLARSHIP. Yep, I know what you are thinking ( ‘ Why wasting your money? while you are working and making decent money’ , well There’s a reason of which hopefully I will find time to ramble on later.) but I think it is worth it. Eventhough mom got my back ( financial-wise ), I still felt like a burden to her, so finding a somewhat on-campus job is helpful. For those who don’t  know, International student is limited to working on campus job; I could work some cash job ( No strip, no bar please ) but it is risky and far away from the place I am currently living. So the school posted an opening for a WEB TECHNOLOGY job and eventhough I am not the front-end guy and did not fit any of the requirements : HTML, CSS, ASP, .NET, basically Microsoft technology stack while I am a Java guy , I still applied. Who knows ? Maybe I got it.

When I got to the test place, man, it was full of people, most of them indian, otherwise, chinese.

This is before it is full. I always come early to overcome the anxiety issue.

I was biting my fingernails : ‘Man how would I compete again this pool. Fight on Duc, there’s nothing to lose. You never know until you try it.’ I always know that front-end side is my weak point and im not well-versed in SQL either. That’s when the test slap me in the face. 100  points total broken down into : HTML/JScript(40, )C#(20), SQL(40). :Face-palm: the most points are the area I’m not good at, the other one I’m not even literate(C#). Well, end of life for the lazy man but ,……

Upcoming sections are the question I remember the most. I will try to come up with solution on my own since I do not have time limit(test is 3 hours)

As I was doing the test, I figured out one cool thing whether by design or not but the test is filled up with bit that you can fill up on other question. For example, one question asks this criteria, and by elimination you already ruled out the correct answer, later on you use that information to help on some other questions. Since, I always read questions quickly to rank them so as to continue working on it or skip. This is a big help. For example, one question gives me the input box html form and the picture of its rendered page and ask me to fill out the blank, a feast that is super hard since I never remember any syntax, always looking it up; however, one other question give me example of an input box which I used as the reference to fill out the missing questions from the former question. Hah, awesome. However, it takes a lot of revision and back and forth between questions and a lot of great concentration so you tend to forget to mark the questions you think you can come back later but by the time it is already too late. I think the general strategy is to do front-to-back(from the GRE book).

1.HTML/Javascript

a. variadic argument

The question is something like this:

Write a javascript functio ‘sum’ that takes in variable arguments. for example, sum(2,3), sum(2,3,4), sum(2,3,4,5)

Hmm, for some reason I was thinking of currying(is that right?) in which we can have as many arguments we want. A typically example is that of adder

function adder(start)
{
   return function add(inc){
      return start + inc;
   }
}

adder takes in an initial variable and return a closure which close on the initial variable or the initial variable’s value is visible to the ‘add’ function scope. So we can do something like this

add3 = adder(3); //start = 3

console.log(add3(1)); //4

console.log(add3(5)); //5

So currying will carry on the arguments passed in and we can have infinite arguments. So I was doing some stupid things like this

//assume taking at least 2
function sum(a)
{
    return function(b){
       return a + b;
}
}

It looks exactly like the above functions but only works on 2 parameters. Later on I had an epiphany that the function can takes in args[] by which we can loop and sum. How stupid was I

function sum(args[])
{
   var sum = 0;
   var i = 0;
   // cant remember i use the 'index' or 'in' style
   for ( var i = 0; i < args.length; i++ )
      sum += args[i];
   return sum

2.SQL

SQL is the one I was not proficient in but I think I did okay.

Leave a Reply

